THE LETTERS LOST IN THE MAIL: My Honorable Mentions of 2012

There were plenty of games that I grabbed throughout the year but didn’t manage to actually play. As I recapped all the games throughout the year, there were a myriad of titles that I want to consider the best of ’12, but for one reason or another I felt inadequate to claim them better than their peers.

The games that couldnt make the awards…

Persona 4: Golden |Vita

Persona.4.The.Golden.full.998238

A game that’s praise is only defeated by my lack of conviction to pick up my Vita. I’ll admit, I’ve never given the Persona series the time of day, lumping them with stigmas I had with the Shin Megami Tensei series, based on no merit. The Puzzler/Dating Simulation, Catherine, changed that perception, prompting me to play anything related to Persona series from here out. When I eventually pick up my vita, this will probably be the game its for.

Assassin’s Creed III |PS3, 360, PC, Wii U

assassins_creed_3_2012-wallpaper-1600x900

So since its release, I have been ignoring every word of this game as I stare at its opened but unplayed disc. I’ve nervously procrastinated by playing every other AAA game that’s released since, saying “once this is done, I’ll get to you”. I’m a big fan of Assassin’s Creed, eventually chronicling Ezio’s exact age throughout the games to get better senses of his mentalities; After replaying through the original game packed into Revelation, I actually enjoyed Altiar more than his older, revised, rendition shown in Revelations.  Aside from the blemishing Revelations and largely ignoring to the multiplayer, I’ve been a undivided fan. Assassin’s Creed III is top on my lists to play, I just couldnt muster fitting it into 2012. When I’m done with this, I’ll get to it….

Hitman: Absolution |PC, 360, PS3

hitman_absolution_2012-wallpaper-1600x900

Now I wasnt an OG, but I appreciate the Hitman series. I wont say I love the series as I cant recall any context beyond assassinating  some bad dudes, but it is a series that I dont think gaming could exist without it. Its open-ended setting leave plenty of exploration and diverse ways to any objective, creating the sense of genuine living spaces; and its gameplay, while can be broken down to simple run and gun style shooting, when achieved correctly, present themselves like a perfect puzzle. I’ve been fiending to suited back up for the better half of this of generation,  Welcome back, 47.

Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance |3DS

Kingdom.Hearts.Dream_.Drop_.Distance.full_.1061485

Since I have yet to play Dream Drop Distance, Putting it  anywhere on a list is biased, admittedly. That said, I did see some merit in this 3DS Kingdom Hearts, at least in its goals. Bringing back Sora and Rikku after years of side characters as well as the promising ties the long awaited now inevitable Kingdom Hearts 3 is enough to get a fan like me racing the latest souvenir.

Forza Horizon |360

forza-horizon-xbox-360-screenshots-2

I love Forza. Gran Turismo 5 does have a few bells that beat Forza’s whistles, but all in all, for my laymen’s eye for gaming engines and vehicle physics, Forza is the superior series. One thing Forza is lacking is its variety, sticking to sunny-days and paved racetracks for its settings. Forza Horizon rectifies this, bringing a day/night cycle and open world to explore. I’ve only played the demo, leaving me with little knowledge of the actual product, but the change in tone presented me a pail of lemons. Instead of the sophisticated society of Forza 3 and 4, Horizon takes after Fast and Furious’ culture of young teens living for the party and the road. Its just not my scene. As long as its driving pedigree is kept as propriety Forza should stay ontop the (simulation) racing seat.

Sleeping Dogs |PS3,360, PC

asdasasda

I tried Sleeping Dogs shortly after its release, but since I was bitter by a few developer decisions, never gave it a proper chance. Put off by the inclusion of AAA Hollywood actors, and ignorant to its combat, I chose to leave it on the shelf. Since then, the surprisingly expansive Hong Kong, and mysteries behind its combat has been calling me back for a second try.

Sine Mora |XBLA

sine_mora_wallpaper

Sine Mora and I were destined to be friends. Bullet-hell shooters are among my favorite genres; Their classic challenge of dodging enemies and munition by the pixel is something I dont think Ill ever get over, even just for the comedic sense.  Sine Mora’s mechanics of time creates more defenses for the player, which are well invited,  while introducing creative challenges. And its got Star Fox-esque anthropomorphic animals, whats not to like! I’ve been unappreciative of Sine Mora, unfortunately, depriving it of the time it deserves to begrudgingly stumble through popular titles.

FTL: Faster Than Light |PC

ftlreviewmain1000_large_verge_super_wide

With returning stints to Kerbal Space Program, FTL: Faster Than Light seemed right up my alley. Space exploration, Ship management, sudden deaths with overwhelming consequences, yes please. Following a tradition with Kerbal Space Program, I like having a co-pilot or at least someone to consult as a mission control, which adds a welcoming second opinion, although its not always accomplishable to assemble a assisting crew.

Pokemon Conquest |DS

Pokemon-Conquest-Logo

A mash up of the cuddly monsters of Pokemon, with the Waring factions of the Samurai Warriors universe, Pokemon Conquest is an interesting twist on either series, stepping into strategy elements that both franchises have forayed well in. Since I’m a fan of both series, surprisingly leaning towards the one involving ridiculous battling ninjas, I just had to see what Frankenstein’s monster looks like.  My only deterrent to putting in decent time into Conquest is choosing the DS as a home.  Nintendo’s way of up scaling previous handhelds has never been optimum, turning me away from playing on my 3DS.

Dyad |PSN

Dyad_Launch_01

Part psychedelic shooter, rhythm  game, and puzzle game, Dyad caught my attention by containing everything I love in modern arcade games. What’s kept me away from Dyad is the need to be tethered to the TV. Dyad seems like a game that’d perfectly compliment the on-the-go mentality of the Playstation Vita. There was word of a portability treatment after release, what happened with that?

Xenoblade Chronicles |Wii

EDG232.p_xeno.new_09

So.. My knowledge of Xenoblade Chronicles is very limited.  A member of the trilogy of games at the heart of Operation Meteor, a fan petition to bring three unique Japanese Wii role playing games stateside, and the greater of the two games that actually arrived on American shores, Xenoblade caught my eye with its confusing, and admittedly  therefore interesting, narratives and settings. A ‘world’ comprising of two giants was enough to hook me in. Assuming its anything like its influences and contemporaries, Xenoblade Chronicles requires a century to 100% complete, leaving me to shelf it until time opens up.

Last Story |Wii

TheLastStory_01

The other member of Operation Meteor that arrived in the states, The Last Story is Final Fantasy creator, Hironobu Sakaguchi’s latest game. Again I have little experience the Last Story, but I have enough anticipation about it to give it some praise. Taking the series Sakaguchi-San helped create into account, I’m sure the Last Story follows suit and requires more time than possible to ever complete, prompting to leave it alone until I have enough to give it a proper sit down.

One response to “THE LETTERS LOST IN THE MAIL: My Honorable Mentions of 2012

  1. Pingback: A Year In Recap: My Picks of 2012 - Blog by Thegrandmasboy - IGN·

Leave a Reply

